The Metal Crypt on Facebook  The Metal Crypt's YouTube Channel
Review: Siege of Power - This Is Tomorrow
Siege of Power
This Is Tomorrow

Label: Metal Blade Records
Year released: 2023
Duration: 40:45
Tracks: 11
Genre: Death/Thrash


Review online: March 21, 2023
Reviewed by: MetalMike
Readers' Rating
How do you rate this release?

Rated 4.25/5 (85%) (4 Votes)

Siege of Power is something of a "super" group which features Autopsy singer Chris Reifert and Asphyx guitarist Paul Baayens along with Theo van Eekelen (bass) and Bob Bagchus (drums) who are in a number of lesser-known bands. Thrashy death metal is the style on their second album, This Is Tomorrow, led by Reifert’s multi-style vocal attack. Mostly a bilious shout that is relatively easy to understand, he also drops down to a guttural growl on occasion. Musically, I can’t help but hear the Reign in Blood influence all throughout This Is Tomorrow, especially on ferocious yet catchy tracks like "Force Fed Fear" and "Oblivion," two of the most memorable songs on the album. Clearly, Siege of Power are not trying to break any molds, just a bunch of heads and they rip through punishing track after punishing track, never relenting, never giving an inch. There’s nothing here you haven’t heard before, but it is done well, so that probably isn’t a detriment for those that dig this sort of melodic yet brutal metal. If you are looking for an album to shake the walls and melt your neighbor’s face, look no further.

More about Siege of Power...
Review: Warning Blast (reviewed by Michel Renaud)
Click below for more reviews
Latest 0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Various Books/Zines 

The Metal Crypt - Crushing Posers Since 1999
Copyright  © 1999-2024, Michel Renaud / The Metal Crypt.  All Rights Reserved.